TRB 2016 Blue Ribbon Committee
16th National Transportation Planning Applications Conference
Committee Members, January 2016


TRB’s Standing Committee on Transportation Planning Applications (ADB50) is part of the ADB00 Travel Analysis Methods Section and is focused on providing opportunities to showcase practice ready planning applications at every level of the transportation planning process. ADB50 was honored with the Blue Ribbon Committee award at the 2016 TRB Annual Meeting for ‘Contributing to TRB and the Transportation Community’.

The centerpiece of the committee’s work is the Transportation Planning Applications Conference. The event is held every two years, and will celebrate its 30th anniversary with the upcoming conference in 2017. The conference has been held in varying locations throughout the U.S. and consistently attracts hundreds of delegates representing public and private sector organizations, Federal and State agencies, consultants and academics. It is the ‘place-to-be’ to learn about the latest transportation planning applications and methods, share successes and failures, promote knowledge-transfer and transition research into practice.

Organizing and presenting a conference of this magnitude is an impressive accomplishment. It is even more impressive considering this dynamic program of relevant technical information and available networking opportunities is delivered solely by a committee of volunteers.

Creation of the technical program is a well-established series of activities, coordinated by appointed conference and technical program chairpersons. Each conference ends with a detailed survey of attendees and committee members so improvements in process, content and activities are incorporated into future conferences. This process of review and refinement, along with a revolving list of members and friends, results in each conference being better than the last. The opportunities for leadership are abundant and young members are actively encouraged to participate. In addition, attendee feedback routinely promotes the conference as an excellent value for the money.

In addition to the conference work, ADB50 is also a proponent of new ‘thinking’ at the TRB Annual Meeting. This is demonstrated by the successful Analyze This! Workshop which was sponsored by ADB50 at the 2016 Annual Meeting. It was truly a ‘work’ shop, where attendees participated in small group problem solving in response to real world ‘problems’ submitted prior to the session. The innovative approach was a big success and encouraged broad participation and brain-storming. The hope of ADB50’s supporters is for workshops like Analyze This! to identify more efficient ways to connect researchers and practitioners.

The current members are listed below. If you are interested in supporting the work of ADB50 by becoming a friend of the committee, please go to to sign up!

ADB50 MEMBERSHIP 2016-2019

Julie Dunbar, Committee Chair
Dunbar Transportation Consulting LLC

Dave Schmitt, Secretary
Connetics Transportation Group

Elizabeth Sall, Committee Research Coordinator
Urban Labs, LLC

Adriana Rodriguez, Committee Communications Coordinator
HDR, Inc.

Brice Nichols, Committee Young Member Coordinator
Puget Sound Regional Council

Andrew Rohne, Webmaster
Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana Regional Council of Governments

Liza Amar
CDM Smith

Zabe Bent
Nelson Nygaard Consulting Associates

Vince Bernardin
RSG, Inc.

Peter Bosa
Oregon Metro

Elisabetta Cherchi
Technical University of Denmark

Ilan Elgar

Gehan Elsayed
West Virginia Department of Transportation

Rhett Fussell
WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff

Greg Giaimo
Ohio Department of Transportation

Craig Gresham
Clearbox Forecast Group, LLC

Bob Hazlett
Maricopa Association of Governments

Chris Hiebert
Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission

Jill Hough
Hexagon Transportation

Joe Huegy
Institute for Transportation Research and Education North Carolina State University

Keith Killough
Arizona Department of Transportation

Becky Knudson
Oregon Department of Transportation

Subrat Mahapatra
Maryland State Highway Adminstration

Hanna Maoh
University of Windsor

Mark McCord
Ohio State University

Phil Mescher
Iowa Department of Transportation

Marty Milkovits
Cambridge Systematics, Inc.

Erin Morrow
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

Jeff Roux
Federal Transit Administration

Scott Smith
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology

Scott Thompson-Graves
Whitman Requardt and Associates

Nick Wood
Texas Transportation Institute

Hongtai Yang
Southwest Jiaotong Univeristy

Yongping Zhang
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Barb Arens, Emeritus
WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff

Jerry Faris, Emeritus-at-Large
Genesis Group, Inc.

Richard Marshment, Emeritus
University of Oklahoma

Montie Wade, Emeritus
Wade Engineering